Applications for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize now open until 30 June
Refugees from Nagorno-Karabakh region arrive at a temporary accommodation centre in the town of Goris, Armenia, September 24, 2023. REUTERS/Irakli Gedenidze
May 30, 2024

Applications for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize now open until 30 June

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, the EU’s flagship journalism award, has opened for applications, including from media and journalists based in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

The Prize recognises and honours the work of journalists from around the world which shed a light on the most pressing global challenges.

The European Commission calls on journalists reporting on issues relating to inequality, poverty eradication, sustainable development, environment, biodiversity, climate action, digital, jobs and employment, education and skills development, migration, healthcare, peace, democracy, and human rights to apply online.

Reporters can submit written, audio-visual or multimedia work in one of the following categories:

  • Best Emerging Journalist Award: reporting by journalists aged between 18 and 25 at the time of submission.
  • Investigative Journalism Award: reporting aiming to uncover serious issues such as crimes, injustice, corruption, or corporate wrongdoing, and to expose these to the public.
  • Feature Journalism Award: Reporting focusing on entertaining, educating, engaging or informing the audience.
  • Special Award: the 2024 edition will recognise photojournalism work published by a media outlet based in one of the eligible countries.

Applications are open to reporting in any language, but should be accompanied by a translation in one of the competition languages: English, French, Spanish, German or Portuguese.

The winner of each category will receive €10,000 as a prize, and the winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work placement or traineeship with a media partner.

The winners will be announced at the Lorenzo Natali Prize Award Ceremony in Brussels later in 2024.

The deadline for applications is 30 June.

Find out more

Press release

Lorenzo Natali Prize 2024 – 32nd edition


June 30, 2024



Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,