European Parliament to strengthen ties with Ukraine’s Verkhovna Rada
March 6, 2022

European Parliament to strengthen ties with Ukraine’s Verkhovna Rada

On 4 March, European Parliament President Roberta Metsola announced that a structure bringing together key European Parliament interlocutors with their counterparts from the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine has been set up. This has been done to establish the priorities and needs of the Rada under the current circumstances and in the future.

Metsola made the announcement during a meeting with the speakers of the European Union’s National Parliaments and the speaker of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine, Ruslan Stefanchuk.

From Marseille, where she addressed the meeting, President Metsola said that the “support of the EU national parliaments is crucial to keep the EU unity and to enable the best possible assistance to Ukraine.”

She added that a major goal of the Russian invasion is to target and paralyse Ukraine’s democratic institutions: “Kyiv is under siege and so is democracy. This is an attack not only on an independent and peaceful nation but also on liberal democracies, elected representatives and parliaments.”

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,