Commissioner Simson in Tbilisi for EU-Georgia High-Level Energy Dialogue
November 16, 2023

Commissioner Simson in Tbilisi for EU-Georgia High-Level Energy Dialogue

Today, 16 November, the European Commissioner for Energy Kadri Simson comes to Tbilisi, Georgia, to participate in the first EU-Georgia High-Level Energy Dialogue. 

This dialogue will be held in context of the Commission’s recommendation last week to grant Georgia the status of EU candidate country. The event will provide an opportunity to take stock of the progress Georgia is making on their energy market reforms and the steps taken on the implementation of EU rules.

The discussions will focus on the alignment with key EU energy legislation, the development of energy infrastructure and connectivity, and the promotion of energy efficiency and renewable energy. Discussions will further focus on funding instruments and attracting investments in Georgia’s energy infrastructure and its energy transition. 

The Commissioner will then visit the Qartli wind power station, the first project of its kind in the Caucasus region. This project is financially supported by the EU via the Green Growth Fund.

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,