EU4Digital launches pilot for automated exchange of eCommerce data
June 1, 2021

EU4Digital launches pilot for automated exchange of eCommerce data

EU4Digital has launched its eCommerce pilot, establishing national virtual warehouses in the Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia to support retailers, marketplaces, delivery operators and customs to place products for sale abroad and facilitate cross-border delivery.

The eCommerce pilot aims to strengthen the eCommerce ecosystem and increase eCommerce volumes, to increase the awareness and support to prepare to the 2021 eCommerce VAT package introduced in the EU, and to address existing challenges for cross-border eCommerce trade. In addition, in Georgia, the focus of the EU4Digital pilot is on women-led businesses to support them in eCommerce with the EU.

Within the pilot, the companies from Azerbaijan (a seller of handcrafted wooden accessories), Georgia (two women-led businesses, producing children’s clothing and eco-friendly housewarming gifts) and Armenia (a sock seller) successfully sold their products to Germany through the virtual warehouse.

Find out more

Press release

The concept and the goal of the EU4Digital eCommerce pilot 


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,