Northern Dimension Policy: EU, Iceland and Norway suspend activities with Russia and Belarus
March 9, 2022

Northern Dimension Policy: EU, Iceland and Norway suspend activities with Russia and Belarus

On 8 March, the European Union, Iceland and Norway suspended all activities of the Northern Dimension policy which involve Russia and Belarus.

With the Northern Dimension policy, the European Union, Iceland, Norway, and Russia have promoted dialogue and concrete cooperation based on good neighbourliness, equal partnership, common responsibility and transparency. The Northern Dimension policy includes Belarus as an observer.

By its unprovoked and unjustified military actions, Russia is grossly violating international law and undermining European and global security and stability. We have also condemned the involvement of Belarus in this aggression against Ukraine,” a press release from the European Commission said.

The EU, Iceland and Norway consider that Russia and Belarus have by their actions grossly violated the rules-based multilateral relations and principles underlying the Northern Dimension policy. 

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,