Apply for the EU prize for Cultural Heritage
November 22, 2021

Apply for the EU prize for Cultural Heritage

The European Commission and its programme Creative Europe invite projects in the field of the conservation of cultural heritage to apply for Europe’s most prestigious awards – the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2022.

In 2022, awards will be given in five categories: conservation & adaptive reuse; research; education, training & skills; citizens engagement & awareness-raising; and heritage champions.

Entries can be related to tangible, intangible or digital heritage, ranging from small to large, from local to European and international.

Up to 30 remarkable heritage achievements from all over Europe will be awarded. Of those, up to 5 winners will receive a Grand Prix with a prize of €10,000. One winner will also receive the Public Choice Award following an online vote.

Entries for the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards may only be submitted from countries participating in the Creative Europe programme, including Ukraine and Georgia (if the country signs the association agreement to the Creative Europe programme by the announcement of the winners in September 2022).

Entries submitted by countries that are members of the Council of Europe but are not participating in the Creative Europe Programme are only eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Republic of Moldova), but they are not eligible to win a Grand Prix.

The deadline for applications is 1 February.

Find out more

Press release


February 1, 2022



Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,