Ukrainian people among finalists of Sakharov Prize – winner to be selected on 19 October
October 17, 2022

Ukrainian people among finalists of Sakharov Prize – winner to be selected on 19 October

Members of the European Parliament  have shortlisted the Ukrainian people  represented by their president, elected leaders, and civil society  for the 2022 Sakharov Prize. The Ukrainian people and President Volodymyr Zelenskiy have been nominated by four European Parliament political groups at once.

The WikiLeaks publisher Julian Assange and  the Colombian Truth Commission are also among the nominees.

The annual Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought has been awarded to individuals and organisations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms since 1988. It is named in honour of Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov. The prize money is €50,000.

On 19 October, European Parliament President Roberta Metsola and the leaders of the political groups will decide on the winner. On 14 December, the Sakharov Prize award ceremony will take place in Strasbourg.

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,