EU imposes sanctions against Russia for violating Ukraine’s territorial integrity
February 23, 2022

EU imposes sanctions against Russia for violating Ukraine’s territorial integrity

On 23 February, the EU agreed by unanimity to respond to Russia’s illegal actions against Ukraine, EU High Representative Josep Borrell announced during a press conference with French Foreign Minister Jean-Yves Le Drian, following the special informal meeting of EU foreign ministers on the situation in Ukraine.

The EU sanctions package will hit 351 members of the Russian State Duma who voted for the recognition of the so-called LPR and DPR, and 27 individuals and entities who undermine Ukraine’s territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence. These persons and entities represent decision makers, defence sector, banks, and media involved in disinformation campaign.

These sanctions also target economic relations between the two breakaway regions and the European Union and the ability of the Russian state to access the EU’s capital and financial markets.

These actions are being taken in close coordination with our partners and allies,” added Borrell.

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,