EU Civil Protection Mechanism: 500 patients transferred to European hospitals
June 6, 2022

EU Civil Protection Mechanism: 500 patients transferred to European hospitals

A total of 500 Ukrainian patients in need of continued treatment or urgent medical care have so far been transferred from Ukraine, Moldova and neighbouring EU Member States to European hospitals through the EU Civil Protection Mechanism.

Currently, the main host countries are Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain and Sweden.

As hospitals in Ukraine and neighbouring countries are under increasing pressure, we need to organise specialised treatments, both for patients with chronic diseases and for people injured during the war. The EU is working 24/7 to coordinate, through its Civil Protection Mechanism, medical evacuations of Ukrainian patients,” said Janez Lenarčič, European Commissioner for Crisis Management.

Transfers take place through the Solidarity Mechanism, a specific European system for medical transfers under the EU Civil Protection Mechanism. It ensures the secure transfer of patient data through the sharing of medical records via the Early Warning and Response System (ARPS). It also allows the European Commission to report to the Ukrainian authorities where patients have been transferred to EU/EEA countries.

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,