Russia’s military aggression against Ukraine: EU sanctions hit 15 additional individuals and 9 entities
March 16, 2022

Russia’s military aggression against Ukraine: EU sanctions hit 15 additional individuals and 9 entities

An additional 15 individuals and nine entities from Russia have been hit by the latest restrictive measures adopted by the EU on 15 March, as part of the fourth package of sanctions against Russia for its ongoing military aggression against Ukraine.

The listed individuals include key oligarchs Roman Abramovich and German Khan, as well as other prominent business people involved in key economic sectors, such as iron and steel, energy, banking, media, military and dual use products and services. The list also includes lobbyists and propagandists, such as Konstantin Ernst (CEO of Channel One Russia) who are pushing the Kremlin’s narrative on the situation in Ukraine.

Sanctioned entities include companies in the aviation, military and dual use, shipbuilding and machine building sectors.

“We are adding to our sanctions list even more oligarchs and regime-affiliated elites, their families and prominent businesspeople, which are involved in economic sectors providing a substantial source of revenue to the regime,” said EU High Representative Josep Borrell. “These sanctions also target those who have a leading role in disinformation and propaganda that accompany President Putin’s war against Ukrainian people Our message is clear: Those who enable the invasion of Ukraine pay a price for their actions.”

Altogether, EU restrictive measures now apply to a total of 877 individuals and 62 entities. Those designated are subject to an asset freeze and EU citizens and companies are forbidden from making funds available to them. Natural persons are additionally subject to a travel ban, which prevents them from entering or transiting through EU territories. 

The Council recently also decided to prolong the sanctions targeting those responsible for undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine for a further six months until 15 September 2022.

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,