G7 warns of tougher sanctions against Russia
March 5, 2022

G7 warns of tougher sanctions against Russia

The G7 has condemned Russian aggression against Ukraine, saying they would “hold accountable those responsible for war crimes” and warning of “further severe sanctions” against Russia.

Foreign Ministers of the G7 (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America), and the High Representative of the European Union  issued a statement on 4 March, reiterating their “profound condemnation of Russia’s unprovoked and unjustifiable war of choice against Ukraine, enabled by the Belarussian government”.

The statement said Russia must immediately stop its ongoing assault against Ukraine, and immediately withdraw military forces. “With its further aggression, President Putin has isolated Russia in the world, as evidenced by the overwhelming vote at the United Nations General Assembly condemning Russia’s aggression and calling upon it to withdraw its forces immediately.”

The G7 underlined its “unwavering support for Ukraine, its freely-elected government and its brave people at this most difficult time, and express our readiness to assist them further”.

Calling on Russia to uphold its obligation to fully respect international humanitarian law and human rights law, the statement acknowledged the announcement of an arrangement on humanitarian access as an important first step. 

It also urged Russia to stop its attacks in the vicinity of Ukraine’s nuclear power plants. “Any armed attack on and threat against nuclear facilities devoted to peaceful purposes constitutes a violation of the principles of international law.”

G7 ministers said they would “hold accountable those responsible for war crimes, including indiscriminate use of weapons against civilians”, and warned they would continue to impose “further severe sanctions” in response to Russian aggression, enabled by the Lukashenka regime in Belarus.

The statement concluded: “We reaffirm our support and commitment to the sovereignty, independence, unity and territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognised borders, extending to its territorial waters. We underline that any purported change of status achieved by Russia’s renewed aggression will not be recognised.”

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,