G7 Non-Proliferation Directors Group endorses IAEA efforts on nuclear safety in Ukraine
March 16, 2022

G7 Non-Proliferation Directors Group endorses IAEA efforts on nuclear safety in Ukraine

The G7 Non-Proliferation Directors Group has condemned Russia’s military aggression against Ukraine and any action that endangers the safety of nuclear facilities intended for peaceful purposes, strongly supporting the seven pillars of nuclear safety earlier outlined by International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Director Raphael Grossi.

These seven pillars are:

  1. The physical integrity of nuclear facilities, whether reactors, fuel ponds, or radioactive waste storage and disposal sites, must be maintained;
  2. All safety and security systems and equipment must be fully functional at all times; 
  3. Operating staff must be able to fulfil their respective safety and security duties, with appropriate staff rotation, and have the capacity to make safety and security-related decisions free of undue pressure;
  4. There must be secure off-site power supply from the grid for all nuclear sites;
  5. There must be uninterrupted logistical supply chains and transportation to and from the sites;
  6. There must be effective on-site and off-site radiation monitoring systems and emergency preparedness and response measures; and
  7. There must be reliable communications of the sites with the regulator, as appropriate.

The G7 Non-Proliferation Directors Group also urged all countries to make available to the IAEA all necessary resources and equipment to facilitate technical support to Ukraine. 

Find out more

Press release

Borrell calls on Russia to preserve safety of nuclear infrastructure in Ukraine

Chernobyl events putting at risk decades of efforts to secure nuclear site – EBRD


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,