European Union celebrates its official 30th birthday
February 7, 2022

European Union celebrates its official 30th birthday

Today, the European Union celebrates its official 30th birthday!

On 7 February 1992, the Treaty on European Union was signed by 12 countries in the Dutch city of Maastricht.

The Maastricht Treaty marked the formal creation of the European Union and laid the foundation of the EU as we know it today by establishing: European citizenship, common foreign and security policy, and cooperation in the field of justice and home affairs.

Jacques Poos and Jean-Claude Juncker, seated in front from left to right, signing the treaty on behalf of Luxembourg © European Communities, 1992 / Source: EC – Audiovisual Service / Photo: Christian Lambiotte

The treaty also paved the way for the creation of the euro, which celebrates its own 20th anniversary this year.

Today, more than 440 million citizens from 27 EU countries enjoy the benefits of European cooperation.

Find out more

Press release

Treaty of Maastricht on European Union


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,