Eighth sanctions package against Russia: list extended to 30 more individuals and seven more entities
October 7, 2022

Eighth sanctions package against Russia: list extended to 30 more individuals and seven more entities

The EU imposed restrictive measures on an additional 30 individuals and 7 entities as part of its eighth package of sanctions against Russia adopted on 6 October.

Some of the designated  individuals have played a role in the organisation of the illegal sham ‘referenda’ held in parts of the Donetsk, Kherson, Luhansk, and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine, and their illegal annexation. 

Others are representatives of the defence sector, like the largest shareholder of arms producer JSC Kalashnikov Concern, Alan Lushnikov, and the former and current Deputy Ministers of Defence of the Russian Federation. 

Lastly, the list includes individuals who contribute to spreading disinformation about the war, such as the Russian political scientist Aleksander Dugin and singers Yulia Chicherina, Nikolay Rastorguev, and Oleg Gazmanov. 

Ella Pamfilova, chairperson of the Russian Central Electoral Commission, has also been sanctioned.

The seven entities hit by the sanctions include defence companies that supply arms and fighter jets to the Russian armed forces, the Central Election Commission of the Russian Federation, which is responsible for organising elections and referendums, and OJSC Goznak, a Russian state-owned joint-stock company engaged in the production of security equipment.

Altogether, EU restrictive measures now apply to a total of 1236 individuals and 115 entities. Those designated are subject to an asset freeze and EU citizens and companies are forbidden from making funds available to them. Natural persons are additionally subject to a travel ban, which prevents them from entering or transiting through EU territories.

Find out more

Press release


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,