Cities from Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine can apply until 16 June to become European Capital of Smart Tourism 2022
June 2, 2021

Cities from Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine can apply until 16 June to become European Capital of Smart Tourism 2022

Cities from Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine are invited to take part in the European Capital of Smart Tourism 2022 competition. This initiative rewards European cities for outstanding, innovative and sustainable tourism practices.

The competition is open to cities in EU member states and COSME countries, with populations of over 100,000. In countries where no city has more than 100,000 inhabitants, the largest city is eligible to apply. For small states with a total population below 1 million, cities with 10,000 inhabitants are eligible to apply.

In order to compete for the 2022 European Capital of Smart Tourism title, cities are asked to demonstrate their innovative tourism practices in four areas: accessibility, sustainability, digitalisation, cultural heritage and creativity. The European Jury will select two winners, the European Capitals of Smart Tourism 2022, which will be announced in November 2021. 

Both winning cities will receive expert communication and branding support throughout 2022. This will include the production of a promotional video, a large hashtag sculpture to install in a prominent location, diverse promotional activities and visibility at the EU level.

The deadline for applications is 16 June.

The European Capital of Smart Tourism is an EU initiative, currently financed under the COSME Programme for the Competitiveness of Enterprises and Small and Medium-sized Enterprises.

Find out more

Press release

How to apply


Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a GOPA PACE-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,