Bucha massacre: EU expels 19 Russian diplomats
April 6, 2022

Bucha massacre: EU expels 19 Russian diplomats

On 6 April, 19 members of the Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the EU in Brussels were declared personae non-gratae for engaging in activities contrary to their diplomatic status.

The decision comes at the time of mounting reports about atrocities committed by Russia’s armed forces in a number of occupied Ukrainian towns that have now been liberated, notably Bucha. 

“The European Union is acting in response to the illegal and disruptive actions by designated members of the Russian Mission against the interests and security of the EU and its Member States. These actions have been in breach of the 1961 Vienna Convention on Diplomatic relations,” says the press release by the European External Action Service (EEAS).

The Secretary General of the EEAS, Stefano Sannino, has summoned the Ambassador of the Russian Federation to the European Union, Vladimir Chizhov, in the afternoon to inform him about this decision by High Representative Josep Borrell.

Find out more

Press release

Interested in the latest news and opportunities?

This website is managed by the EU-funded Regional Communication Programme for the Eastern Neighbourhood ('EU NEIGHBOURS east’), which complements and supports the communication of the Delegations of the European Union in the Eastern partner countries, and works under the guidance of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, and the European External Action Service. EU NEIGHBOURS east is implemented by a B&S Europe-led consortium. It is part of the larger Neighbourhood Communication Programme (2020-2024) for the EU's Eastern and Southern Neighbourhood, which also includes 'EU NEIGHBOURS south’ project that runs the EU Neighbours portal.

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union,